State of Connecticut Homeowners Program
Under this program, a tax credit may be applied to the tax bill for the property on which the applicant resides. Credits are based on a graduated income scale.
- Must reside as the owner (or have life use) of the property as of October 1 of the year before applying.
- Must have lived in Connecticut for one year.
- An applicant or spouse must be 65 years of age or older; or be 100% disabled (per Social Security); or be 50 and be a surviving spouse.
- Application must be filed with the local assessor between February 1 and May 15. Please call the assessor’s office to schedule an appointment to apply.
- Proof of previous year’s income must be provided. If no tax return is filed with the IRS income proofs such as SSA 1099s, interest statements from banks, retirement income statement, etc. If a tax return is filed it must be provided along with SSA 1099s.
- Following approval of the initial application by the assessor’s office the applicant must file biennially. It is the responsibility of the applicant to notify the assessor’s office of any change in their income.
Note: Qualifying income limits are adjusted annually and are available from the program administrator.
Town of Haddam Homeowners Program
(Local Senior Tax Abatement Program)
The Town of Haddam has adopted an ordinance allowed by state law to provide tax relief to elderly and disabled residents.
Any eligible taxpayer may apply for and receive either a property tax abatement or property tax deferral for an eligible property upon completion of the application provided by the Town of Haddam Assessor’s Office. The taxpayer may only choose one of the tax relief options.
- Be 65 years of age or older. Surviving spouse must be at least 60* years of age to continue benefit. Only one benefit allowed per household.
- Be a resident of the Town of Haddam for 15* years or more.
- Own and occupy the property as their legal domicile for which taxes are paid to the Town of Haddam.
- Be current in taxes including motor vehicle and personal property.
- Make less than $55,000 whether single or married.
- Participation in the state program is required, if qualified, prior to qualifying for the local benefit.
- Provide proof of previous year’s income. If no tax return is filed with the IRS income proofs such as SSA 1099s, interest statements from banks, retirement income statement, etc. If a tax return is filed it must be provided along with Social Security 1099’s. In addition, rent and utility payments made in the previous calendar year must be provided.
Following approval of the initial application by the assessor’s office the applicant must file biennially. It is the responsibility of the applicant to notify the assessor’s office of any change in their income.
The benefit for a single applicant will be a reduction of $500 from taxes due and married applicants will have a reduction of $750 from taxes due.
Partial ownership applicants will receive the benefit equal to the percentage of ownership that is held e.g. if 50% ownership will receive 50% of the full benefit.
The filing period is February 1 through May 15. Please call the assessor’s office to schedule an appointment to apply.
Failure to file constitutes cause for removal from the program.
The town will lien the subject property for the amount of any deferral granted. Such lien shall have priority in the settlement of the applicant’s estate.